You are not logged in.

Unread posts

Dear visitor, welcome to FertilityZone . If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

• "jen84288" started this thread

Reg: Aug 24th 2008

Children: 2 daughters

Friday, May 24th 2013, 9:16am

feeling so down about the thought of not breastfeeding my daughter

Hi Ladies :) I have been breastfeeding DD2 for almost 10 months. I really struggled to feed DD1 and after incredibly sore / bleeding nipples and a baby that just wailed at me 24/7 I threw in the towel at 4 weeks old (much much sooner than i'd hoped). Ever since then I was determined to breastfeed my next and read everything and anything for the next 3 years until my next (and final) baby arrived. I don't know why it was so important to me but I was going to breastfeed this baby no matter what. Luckily it came a lot easier this time around - perhaps through new found knowledge or perhaps just an easier baby to feed. I exclusively breastfeed and was fortunate enough to have a plentiful supply to donate for the first 6 months. Me and DD2 love our breastfeeding relationship and I can't imagine not sharing that with her but recently Ive been feeling so sad. We have reached 10 months and I am all so aware that I am back at work in 3 months and although I plan to keep feeding up until the age of 2, I know that it will probably naturally tail off and I just feel like im losing my identity and purpose. I love her tugging at my top, throwing her head back, pinching my skin and grabbing my hair. This last 10 months has flown and I know that probably within the next 10 months it will all be over :( I never prepared myself that I would feel like this. I felt intense guilt after giving up with DD1 but I thought